CEIBS logo

CEIBS

Shanghai, China - Founded 1994

CEIBS campus

CEIBS (China Europe International Business School) is a business school in Shanghai, China. Its full-time MBA is a 16-month program taught in English on the Shanghai campus, with an accelerated 12-month option. Applications are open for the MBA Class of 2029, entering in 2027; CEIBS lists the start date as September. The MBA 2028 cohort comes from 29 countries and regions, has an average of 6.0 years of work experience, and is 44.2% women, with 50.5% from outside the Chinese mainland. Tuition for the 16-month MBA 2029 is RMB 488,000. For the MBA Class of 2026, 88.7% of corporate-job-seeking graduates accepted a job offer within three months of graduation, and the median annual base salary was RMB 408,000. CEIBS ranks 8th in the FT Global MBA 2026 ranking.

Class size

120

Class profile

Applications

-

Avg GPA

-

GMAT range

-

Intl students

50.5%

Women

44.2%

Avg work exp

6.0 yrs

Avg age

-

GRE accepted

Yes

Undergraduate majors

Science and Engineering: 56.8%Business and Management: 25.3%Languages and Arts: 13.7%Other: 4.2%

Pre-MBA industries

Financial Services: 23.2%Manufacturing: 16.8%Consulting Services: 15.8%Technology: 10.5%

Employment

Median base salary

-

Signing bonus

-

Placement (3 mo)

88.7%

Offers at grad

-

Changed industry

-

Changed function

-

Top employers

AmazonAppleBain & CompanyBoston Consulting GroupByteDanceGoogleMcKinsey & CompanyMicrosoftMichelinNikeTencent
Industry% of class
Healthcare23.6%
Technology16.4%
Manufacturing12.7%
Financial Services12.7%
Consulting10.9%

Programs

TypeProgramDurationFormatTuitionClass size
Full-time MBACEIBS MBA16 monthsFull-time, Shanghai campusRMB 488,000 (16-month MBA 2029)120
Early-careerCEIBS MBA Deferred AdmissionEnroll after 2 to 4 years of workDeferred admission into the full-time MBA, ShanghaiNot stated on the deferred admission page; admits enter a later MBA class at that intake's tuition-
Part-time MBAFinance MBA (FMBA)24 monthsPart-time, weekends in Shanghai, taught in ChineseRMB 598,000 (FMBA 2027)-
Executive MBAGlobal EMBA24 monthsPart-time, modular (4 days every month or 8 days every two months)USD 118,000 or RMB 848,000 (2026 intake)-
PhDPhD Program48 monthsFull-time, on campusNot stated on the English PhD page-

All full-time MBA programs comparedAll early-career MBA programs compared

Admissions

RoundDeadlineDecision by
Early ActionOctober 14, 2026November 4, 2026
Round 1December 2, 2026December 23, 2026
Round 2March 17, 2027April 14, 2027
Round 3May 19, 2027June 19, 2027

Application fee

$180

Tuition

RMB 488,000 (16-month MBA 2029)

Total cost

RMB 488,000 tuition plus accommodation and living expenses in Shanghai

Interview

Required for all short-listed applicants. The panel is made up of CEIBS faculty, alumni and senior admissions officers; in most cases two interviewers. About 30 to 40 minutes, in English, in Shanghai, Beijing or Shenzhen, or online for overseas applicants.

English test

Not required

Deferral

Admitted applicants who must defer for circumstances beyond their control may submit a formal request; the Admissions Committee decides, a deposit is required, and no more than one deferral is granted.

FAQ

What GMAT score do I need for CEIBS?

CEIBS publishes no minimum. It states that 80% of CEIBS MBA students have a GMAT Focus total score between 585 and 695. CEIBS also accepts the GRE and the CEIBS Admission Test.

How international is the CEIBS MBA?

The MBA 2028 cohort comes from 29 countries and regions, and 50.5% come from outside the Chinese mainland. 44.2% are women.

What is the CEIBS MBA tuition?

Tuition for the 16-month MBA 2029 is RMB 488,000 (CEIBS gives approx. USD 72,500). A 12-month accelerated option is available.

What are CEIBS's employment outcomes?

For the MBA Class of 2026, 91.9% of corporate-job-seeking graduates received at least one job offer and 88.7% accepted one within three months of graduation. The median annual base salary was RMB 408,000.

Sources

  1. 1CEIBS, Class profile
  2. 2CEIBS, Admissions
  3. 3CEIBS, Employment report (checked October 15, 2026)

Campus photo by Connoisseur, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons.